Skip to content ↓
Buxton Community School

Buxton Community School

Computer Science and ICT

Head of Department: Emma Wentworth (

Key Stage 3

Throughout Year 7, 8 and 9 we intend to support every child regardless of their ability. Students focus on the foundation of computing and ICT and cover a wide variety of projects to give them a good base for GCSE; should they choose to opt for it in year 10.

The scheme of learning is as follows:

Year 7 – Basic Skills (word, email, power point and spreadsheets), Binary, HTML, Social Networking, E Safety, Computers

Year 8 – Website, Binary, Python, Networks, and Representations from silicone to clay, Computational Thinking

Year 9 – Back to the Future, Vocational ICT, Python, Computer Hardware, Internet Safety, Cyber Security

Key Stage 4 

At GCSE (examined through OCR) the students study three components to make up their GCSE Computing qualification

Component 01: Computer systems

Introduces students to the Central Processing Unit (CPU), computer memory and storage, wired and wireless networks, network topologies, system security and system software.

It also looks at ethical, legal, cultural and environmental concerns associated with computer science.

  • Systems Architecture
  • Memory
  • Storage
  • Wired and Wireless networks
  • Network topologies, protocols and layers
  • System Security
  • System Software
  • Ethical, Legal, Cultural and Environmental concerns

80 marks
1 hour 30 mins
Written paper
Non calculator

Component 02: Computational thinking, algorithms and programming

Students apply knowledge and understanding gained in component 01. They develop skills and understanding in computational thinking: algorithms, programming techniques, producing robust programs, computational logic, translators and data representation.

The skills and knowledge developed within this component will support the learner when completing the Component 03 Programming Project

  • Algorithms
  • Programming techniques
  • Producing robust programs
  • Computational logic
  • Translators and facilities of languages
  • Data representation

80 marks
1 hour 30 mins
Written paper
No calculator

Component 03: Programming project

NEA – non examined assessment. Students use OCR assessment tasks to demonstrate their practical ability in the skills developed in components 01 and 02. In a controlled environment they will, define success criteria from a given problem, and then create suitable algorithms to achieve success criteria.

Students then code their solutions in a suitable programming language, and check its functionality using a suitable and documented test plan. Students have a total of 20 hours to complete their programming project.

  • Programming Techniques
  • Analysis
  • Design
  • Development
  • Testing and evaluation and conclusions

40 marks
20 hours
Non exam assessment

WJEC Information Communication Technology Level 1 and 2

  • Unit 1: ICT in Society
  • On-screen examination: 1 hour 20 minutes
  • 40% of qualification 80 Marks

Questions requiring objective responses, short and extended answers, based around applied situations. Learners will be required to use stimulus material to respond to questions

WJEC Information Communication Technology

  • Unit 2: ICT in Context
  • Controlled assessment: 40 hours
  • 60% of qualification 120 Marks
  • An assignment brief will be provided by WJEC which will include a scenario and several tasks available via the WJEC Secure Website.


WJEC Information Communication Technology

  • 2.1 Planning, creating, modifying and using Databases
  • 2.2 Planning, creating, modifying and using Spreadsheets
  • 2.3 Planning, creating and modifying an Automated document – mail merge
  • 2.4 Planning, creating, manipulating and Storing images

WJEC Information Communication Technology

  • Progression = BTEC ICT, computer programming, HTML, coding, web development and A Level computer science, jobs, apprenticeships, administration, work skills

Graded  =

  • Level 1 Pass, Level 1 Merit, Level 1 Distinction, Level 1 Distinction*
  • Equivalent to 1-3/4
  • Level 2 Pass, Level, 2 Merit, Level 2 Distinction, Level 2 Distinction*
  • Equivalent to 4-9