Skip to content ↓
Buxton Community School

Buxton Community School

School Governing Body

Buxton Community School - Governors

Our Governors are a committed group of people, parents, staff and members of the community, who work collectively to form the Governing Body. They give their time voluntarily to support the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team in the governance and strategic leadership of the school.

The role of the Governing body is to help the school by:

  • Providing confident, strategic leadership and to create robust accountability, oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance.
  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

The school’s Governing Body was reconstituted under the 2012 regulation and 2014 amendments in September 2015, September 2019 and September 2022 and consists of 16 governors, each with a term of office of four years.  

The Full Governing Body meet six times a year and the sub committees Resources and Education Committees meet each half term.

The Governing Body can consist of a maximum of 16 Governors, split as follows, each with a term of office of four years:

  • 4 Parent Governors
  • 1 LA Governor
  • 1 Staff Governor
  • 1 Headteacher
  • 4 Co-opted Governors
  • 5 Foundation Governors

Governor Name

Governor Type

Terms of Office

Sam Jones



Judith Vale

Foundation (Chair)

01/06/2023 -06/12/2025

Helen Hazelhurst

Local Authority (Vice Chair)

01/06/2023 -09/09/2023

Ciaran Buckey


01/06/2023 -17/01/2026

Carolyn Walker


01/06/2023 -31/08/2023

Jo Carr

Co-Opted (Chair of Education)

01/06/2023 -21/03/2026

Jo Eltringham



Emma Morten

Co-Opted (Chair of Resources)

01/06/2023 -21/03/2026

Roger Horne


01/06/2023 -06/12/2025

Ben Mawbey

Clerk to the Governors

01/06/2023 -31/07/2023