Skip to content ↓
Buxton Community School

Buxton Community School

School Term Dates

School Holidays and Closures from

September 2018 to July 2019

HOLIDAY 

SCHOOL CLOSES:

SCHOOL RE-OPENS:

Autumn

 

Tuesday 4th September 2018

Half Term

Friday 26th October 2018

Monday 5th November 2018

Christmas

Friday 21st December 2018

Monday 7th January 2019

Half Term

Friday 15th February 2019

Monday 25th February 2019

Easter

Friday 12th April 2019

Monday 29th April 2019

Half-term

Friday 24th May 2019

Monday 3rd June 2019

Summer

Monday 22nd July 2019

 

School will be closed to students for 5 Staff Training Days:

  • Monday 3rd September 2018
  • Friday 21st September 2018
  • Monday 3rd December 2018
  • Friday 3rd May 2019
  • Monday 22nd July 2019
  • May Day Bank Holiday - Monday 6th May 2019

 

September 2019 to July 2020

HOLIDAY 

SCHOOL CLOSES:

SCHOOL RE-OPENS:

Autumn

 

Tuesday 3rd September 2019

Half Term

Friday 25th October 2019

Monday 4th November 2019

Christmas

Friday 20th December 2019

Monday 6th January 2020

Half Term

Friday 14th February 2020

Monday 24th February 2020

Easter

Friday 3rd April 2020

Monday 20th April 2020

Half-term

Friday 22nd May 2020

Monday 1st June 2020

Summer

Tuesday 21st July 2020

 

School will also be closed to students on the following days: 

Monday 4th May 2020 (Bank Holiday)

Staff Training Days to be arranged

Attendance

At Buxton Community School we recognise that attending school regularly and on time has a positive impact on learning and progress. Excellent attendance and punctuality is key to our students’ success.

Most children at Buxton Community School have an attendance record of well over 95%. Many have an attendance record of 100%. In line with the Government and Local Authority guidelines, we expect all our students to maintain an attendance level of well over 95%.

If a student’s attendance falls below 90%, they may well fall into the ‘Persistent Absence’ category. We would like to avoid this happening to your child.

Holidays

Can we please remind you not to organise any term time holidays as these will not be authorised (and will lead to fines). Where possible try to arrange medical appointments outside of the school day. If this is unavoidable, please arrange the appointment later in the afternoon so your child is able to attend as many lessons as possible and will then gain their morning and afternoon attendance marks.

If your child is genuinely ill and unable to attend school, it is important that parents/carers inform the school on each day of absence.