Skip to content ↓
Buxton Community School

Buxton Community School

Staff Team

We are fortunate to have a very dedicated and motivated team of teaching and support staff. Our staff are professional, innovative and committed to the personal and academic development of the students. The school has a very strong community ethos and staff support for students is outstanding.

If you wish to contact individual members of staff , their email addresses are listed below. Alternatively telephone the school Reception on 01298 23122 or email (Contact) . This email address is monitored daily and your enquiry will be forwarded to the most appropriate member of staff. 

 

Senior Leadership Team 

Mr Craig Yates

headteacher@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Headteacher

Mrs Samantha Jones

samantha.jones@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Deputy Headteacher

 

Mrs Lynne Pope

lynne.pope@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Headteacher - Alternative Provision

Mr Simon Gort

simon.gort@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Headteacher - Teaching & Learning

Mrs Gill Ashworth

gill.ashworth@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

 

Assistant Headteacher - Student Personal Development

Mrs Caroline Gelsthorpe

caroline.gelsthorpe@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

 

Assistant Headteacher - Standards & Expectations

Mrs Alex Garner

alex.garner@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Headteacher - SENCo/Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs Jayne McMillan

jayne.mcmillan@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of School Business and Resources

 

Teaching Staff 

Mr Thomas Adams

thomas.adams@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Science - Physics

Miss Abigail Barker

abigail.barker@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages

Mrs Emma Batey

emma.batey@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Media

Mrs Judith Birtles

judith.birtles@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Design & Technology

Miss Stephanie Barratt

stephanie.barratt@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Acting Head of Psychology (Maternity Cover)

Mrs Leanne Bothamley

leanne.bothamley@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Mathematics

Mrs Vicki Booth

vicki.booth@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Mathematics

Ms Joan Carr

joan.carr@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Religious Studies

Mr Ciaran Buckley

ciaran.buckley@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of English & Teacher of Media Studies

Miss Abbie Copley

abbie.copley@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of English

Miss Laura Bowden

laura.bowden@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Science

Mrs Georgia Cornwell

georgia.cornwell@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of  Food Technology

Ms Jackie Cruse

jackie.cruse@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Sixth Form & Teacher of Media Studies/English

Mrs Chrissy Desforges

christine.desforges@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Modern Foreign Languages

Miss Hannah Edwards

hannah.edwards@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of  Food Technology

Mr Louis Edge

louis.edge@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Religious Studies

Mrs Laura Flint

laura.flint@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Psychology

Miss Annika Hall

annika.hall@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Science & Transition Leader

Mr Martin Gardner

martin.gardner@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Psychology

Mrs Hayley Gardner

hayley.gardner@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of English

Miss Hayley Gould 

hayley.gould@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Modern Foreign Languages

Ms Claire Gillespie

claire.gillespie@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of History

Ms Abigail Heywood

abigail.heywood@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Geography

Mr Charlie Holman

charlie.holman@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress Year 7 &Teacher of Physical Education

Mrs Jacinta Howard

jacinta.howard@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of English

Miss Lucy Ingham

lucy.ingham@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress Year 8 ( Maternity Cover) & Teacher of History

Mr Anthony Isaac

anthony.issac@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Design and Technology

Mr Gareth Jones

gareth.jones@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Mathematics

Mr Tom Griffin

thomas.griffin@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Mathematics & PSHE (Maternity Cover)

Ms Hannah Hayes

hannah.hayes@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

 

Teacher of Music

Mr Edward Kitchen

edward.kitchen@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages

Mr Stephen Lockett

stephen.lockett@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Science - Chemistry

Mrs Jessica Lomas

jessica.lomas@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress Year 8 & Teacher of Geography  (Maternity Leave)

Ms Amy Meaden

amy.meaden@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress Year 9 & Teacher of Physical Education

Mr Michael Milner

mike.milner@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Mathematics

Mr Michael Moore

michael.moore@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Art

Miss Catherine Murray

catherine.murray@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Mathematics

Mrs Sue Newsome

susan.newsome@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Intervention & Teacher of Science - Biology

Ms Jessica Nichols

jessica.nichols@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of English

Mr Christian O’Brien

christian.obrien@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

 

Head of Physical Education

Mrs Claire O’Brien

claire.obrien@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress KS4 & Teacher of Physical Education

Mrs Claire Pickford

claire.pickford@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of English

Mrs Elisabeth Rawson

elizabeth.rawson@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Science - Biology

Mrs Stephanie Reddy

stephanie.reddy@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Music

Ms Shairon Rodgers

shairon.rodgers@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Drama

Miss Caroline Scholes

caroline.scholes@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Maths

Mr Greg Smith

greg.smith@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Director of Progress KS4 & Teacher of Science – Physics

Mrs Tracey Stafford

tracey.stafford@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

 

Teacher of Technology – Food/ DT

Mr Algis Sveikutis

algis.sveikutis@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Art & PSHE (Maternity Cover)

Miss Sorrel Thomas

sorrel.thomas@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Drama & English

Mr Simon Thomson

simon.thomson@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Science - Physics

Mr Jason Warhurst

jason.warhurst@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of IT and Computer Science

Mr James Ward

james.ward@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Business Studies

Mrs Christina Warrington

christina.warrington@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Geography

Mr Adam Warrington

adam.warrington@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of History

Mrs Emma Wentworth

emma.wentworth@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of IT and Computing

Mr Gary Wentworth

gary.wentworth@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Physical Education & Transition Leader

Ms Carina Wood

carina.wood@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Science

Support Staff 

Administration

 

Mrs Sandi Flint

sandi.flint@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

School Business Officer & Head’s PA

Mrs Helen Dinardo

 

School Business Assistant

Mrs Amanda Ward

 

School Business Assistant

Mrs Anne Mulhall

 

School Business Assistant

Mrs Caroline Sumner

 

School Business Assistant 

Mr Tim Shaw

 

 

School Business Assistant

Mr Ben Mawbey

School Business Assistant - Clerk to Governors

Finance and HR

 

Mrs Louise Hallows

School Business Officer

Mr Lee Russell

School Business Assistant

Exams and Cover 

 

Mrs Janette Naden

School Business Officer 

Ms Carol Faram

Cover Supervisor

SIMS/Data

 

Mrs Julie Houston

Senior School Business Assistant

Reprographics

 

Mr Darren Henderson

Curriculum Support Technician

ICT 

 

Mr Chris Carroll

ICT Manager

Mr Gareth Ward

Senior ICT Technician

Learning Resources Centre & Careers Information, Advice & Guidance

 

Mrs Sarah Barnwell

Learning Resources Centre Manager & IAG

Post 16 

 

Miss Rebecca Hall

Sixth Form Learning Mentor

 

Pastoral

 

Mrs Caroline Siddons

Pastoral Manager - Year 7

Ms Kirsti Beesley

Pastoral Manager - Year 8

Mrs Laura Gale

Pastoral Manager - Year 9

Mrs Jane Walters

Pastoral Manager - Year 10

Mrs Debbie Birkin

Pastoral Manager - Year 11

School Counsellor

 

Mrs Debra McDonald- Webb

School Counsellor

Student & Family Support Worker  
Mrs Amy Wray Student & Family Support Worker

Site and Community

 

Mr Paul Thompson

Facilities Manager

Mr Shane Birchenough

Caretaker

Mr James Hunter

Caretaker

Mr Mark Williams Caretaker

Mr Alex Kitchen

Lettings Assistant (Evenings & Saturday)

Cleaning Team 

 

Mrs Laura Ball

Ms Stephanie Hampson

Mrs Miggie Birchenough

Mrs Fran Nuttall

Ms Rosie Brockman

Mrs Jane Oliver

Ms Susan Greenhalgh

Ms Christine Russell

Ms Julie Hudson

Ms Anna Conner

Mrs Anastasia Jones

Mr David Walters

Mrs Sarah Law

Mr Stuart Donnelly
Elizabeth Shirt  

Technicians

 

Mrs Julie Carr

Technology 

Mr David Ford

Technology 

Mrs Mel Babington

Senior Science Technician

Mrs Nicola Hackney

Senior Science Technician

Curriculum Support Technicians

 

Mrs Jeni Smith

 

Mr Gwyn Pritchard-Williams

 

Internal Exclusion Manager

 

Ms Dawn Garrett

 

Alternative Provision Managers

 

Ms Pauline Slater

Mr Matt Lomas

 
 

Learning Support 

Learning Support Team

 
Mrs Valda Wood Team Leader

Mrs Carol Austin

 

Mrs Andrea Bailey

 

Mrs Shelly Barton

 

Mrs Christine Edge

 

Mrs Allison Hoyle

 

Mrs Joanne Meakin

 

Mrs Debbie Melville

 

Mrs Mandy Merrick

 

Mrs Emma Rhodes

 
Mrs Jeni Smith  

Mrs Tracey Waller

 

Mrs Sarah Weston

 

Mrs Karey Lucas - Hughes

 

Mr Kevin Bloor

 

Catering 

Catering Staff

 

Mr Carl Bothamley

Catering Supervisor

Mrs Victoria Gardener

Catering Supervisor

Catering Assistants

 

Mrs Donna Barlow

Mrs Sarah Law

Mrs Nicola Gregory

Ms Alison Hallows

Mrs Sandra Todd

Ms Anna Conner

Ms Clare Thornley