Skip to content ↓
Buxton Community School

Buxton Community School

School Prefects

Buxton Community School appoints a team of School Prefects each year to undertake various roles and responsibilities around the school, both during the school day and at extra-curricular events. This is a perfect role for students in Year 11 who want to take on extra responsibility, extend their experience and provide themselves with opportunities which will support their applications to 6th form, college, university and to work. There is an expectation that the Prefect team are identifiable around the school by wearing a prefect badge and different coloured tie.

We expect our prefects to be role models for other students. They set the example by being honest, approachable and reliable. As leaders within the school they must lead by example by committing to do their best for themselves and the school.

The application process requires students to write a letter explaining the personal skills and qualities they can demonstrate which would enable them to fulfil the role. Students are then selected for an interview with staff where they have the opportunity to share how they have demonstrated these  skills and qualities both inside and outside of school. From this process a team of 24 students are selected of which eight students are selected as Senior prefects.

The Head Boy/Head Girl and Deputy Head Boy/Girl are selected from the team of eight Senior Prefects by the prefect team and members of staff within school.

Academic Year 2019 -20

Head Boy - Adam Munden &  Head Girl - Ava Hazelhurst

Deputy Head Boy - Thomas Borrill  & Deputy Head Girl - Kierra D'Sanchez

Senior Prefects                   

  • Alex Dakin
  • Nell Darley
  • Charlotte Fitzgerald
  • Molly Cartwright


  • Ellie Lloyd
  • Rowan Lutchmiah Lewis
  • Iris Harrison
  • Brandon McKenzie
  • Lataya Armstrong
  • Kyle Roberts
  • Crystal Green
  • Hannah Watson
  • Katie Taylor
  • Orlin Lyon
  • Josie Matthews
  • Maddie Lawton
  • Leona Stafford
  • Callum Gravenor
  • Katie Ivings
  • Milly Critchlow

Letters of Introduction from our Head Boy and Head Girl will follow in September.