Skip to content ↓
Buxton Community School

Buxton Community School

Staff Team

We are fortunate to have a very dedicated and motivated team of teaching and support staff. Our staff are professional, innovative and committed to the personal and academic development of the students. The school has a very strong community ethos and staff support for students is outstanding.

If you wish to contact individual members of staff , their email addresses are listed below. Alternatively telephone the school Reception on 01298 23122 or email (Contact) . This email address is monitored daily and your enquiry will be forwarded to the most appropriate member of staff. 


Senior Leadership Team 

Mr Craig Yates


Mrs Samantha Jones

Deputy Headteacher


Mr Simon Gort

Assistant Headteacher - Teaching & Learning

Mrs Gill Ashworth

Assistant Headteacher - Student Personal Development

Mrs Caroline Gelsthorpe

Assistant Headteacher - Standards & Expectations

Mrs Alex Garner

Assistant Headteacher - SENCo/Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs Christina Warrington

Assistant Headteacher - Recovery

Mrs Jayne McMillan

Head of School Business and Resources


Teaching Staff 

Mrs Claire Austin

Head of Modern Foreign Languages

Miss Abigail Barker

Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages

Mrs Emma Batey

Head of Media

Mrs Judith Birtles

Head of Design & Technology

Miss Stephanie Barratt

Head of Psychology 

Mrs Leanne Bothamley

Teacher of Mathematics

Mrs Vicki Booth

Teacher of Mathematics

Ms Joan Carr

Head of Philosophy/Philosophy and Ethics

Mr Ciaran Buckley

Head of English & Teacher of Media Studies

Miss Abbie Copley

Assistant Head of English

Miss Laura Bowden

Head of Science

Ms Jackie Cruse

Head of Sixth Form & Teacher of Media Studies/English

Ms Lorraine Cushnie

Head of Drama

Miss Sarah Davenport

Teacher of Science


Miss Hannah Edwards

Head of  Food Technology

Mr Louis Edge

Teacher of Philosophy

Mrs Laura Flint

Teacher of Psychology

Mr Luke Fowler

Teacher of Science

Mr Martin Gardner

Teacher of Geography, Health & Social Care and Psychology

Mrs Hayley Gardner

Teacher of English

Ms Claire Gillespie

Teacher of History

Ms Abigail Heywood

Teacher of Geography

Mr Charlie Holman

Director of Progress Year 7 & Teacher of Physical Education

Mrs Anoma Howard

Teacher of English


Miss Georgia Hunter

Teacher of Food Technology

Miss Lucy Ingham

Director of Progress Year 9 & Teacher of History

Mr Anthony Isaac

Teacher of Design and Technology

Mr Ed Jones

Teacher of Geographer

Mr Gareth Jones

Assistant Head of Mathematics

Mr Tom Griffin

Teacher of Mathematics 

Ms Hannah Hayes

Teacher of Music

Mr Edward Kitchen

Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages

Mr Stephen Lockett

Assistant Head of Science 

Mrs Jessica Lomas

Director of Progress Year 8 & Teacher of Geography (Maternity)  

Mrs Hayley Martin

Assistant Head of Modern Foreign Languages

Ms Amy Meaden

Teacher of Physical Education

Mr Michael Milner

Head of Mathematics

Mr Michael Moore

Head of Art

Mrs Chi-er Morris

Teacher of Music (maternity cover)

Miss Catherine Murray

Assistant Head of Mathematics

Mrs Sue Newsome

Director of Intervention & Teacher of Science 

Ms Jessica Nichols

Teacher of English

Mr Christian O’Brien

Head of Physical Education

Mrs Claire O’Brien

Director of Progress KS4 & Teacher of Physical Education

Mrs Claire Pickford

Teacher of English

Mrs Elisabeth Rawson

Assistant Head of Science 

Mrs Stephanie Reddy

Head of Music 

Miss Caroline Scholes

Teacher of Maths

Miss Jayne Simcock

Teacher of ICT

Mr Greg Smith

Assistant Director of Progress KS4 & Teacher of Science 

Mrs Tracey Stafford

Teacher of Technology – Food/ DT

Mr Algis Sveikutis

Teacher of Art & PSHE

Miss Sorrel Thomas

Teacher of Drama & English

Mr Simon Thomson

Teacher of Science 

Mr James Ward

Head of Business Studies

Mrs Christina Warrington

Head of Geography

Mr Adam Warrington

Head of History

Mrs Emma Wentworth

Head of IT and Computing

Mr Gary Wentworth

Teacher of Physical Education & Transition Leader

Ms Carina Wood

Teacher of Science

Support Staff 



Mrs Sandi Flint

School Business Officer & Headteacher’s PA

Mrs Helen Dinardo

School Business Assistant

Mrs Caroline Sumner

School Business Assistant 

Mr Tim Shaw

School Business Assistant
Miss Emma Murray

School Business Assistant - Receptionist

Mrs Anne Mulhall School Business Assistant

Mr Ben Mawbey

School Business Assistant - Clerk to Governors



Mrs Caroline Siddons/Mrs Denise Lowe

Pastoral Manager - Year 7

Mrs Laura Gale

Pastoral Manager - Year 8

Miss Kirsti Beesley

Pastoral Manager - Year 9

Mrs Debbie Birkin

Pastoral Manager - Year 10

Mrs Jane Walters

Pastoral Manager - Year 11

Finance and HR


Mr Lee Russell

School Business Officer

Mrs Dawn Penman School Business Assistant

Exams and Cover 


Mrs Janette Naden

School Business Officer 

Ms Carol Faram

Cover Supervisor

Mrs Amanda Ward Cover Supervisor


Mrs Heidi Bryan                      


School Business Officer 

Mrs Julie Houston

Senior Business Assistant

Miss Stephanie Moss School Business Assistant



Mr Darren Henderson

Curriculum Support Technician



Mr Chris Carroll

ICT Manager

Mr Tim Gilhooly

Network Manager

Post 16 


Ms Rebecca Hall

Sixth Form Learning Mentor

School Counsellor


Mrs Debra McDonald- Webb


Student & Family Support Worker  
Mrs Julie Woods  

Site and Community


Mr Paul Thompson

Facilities Manager

Mr Shane Birchenough


Mr James Hunter


Mr Mark Williams Caretaker

Mr Alex Kitchen

Lettings Assistant (Evenings & Saturday)

Cleaning Team 


Mrs Laura Ball

Ms Julie Hudson

Mrs Miggie Birchenough

Mrs Anastasia Jones

Ms Rosie Brockman

Mrs Sarah Law

Mr Stuart Donnelly

Miss Carole O'Dwyer

Miss Hannah Frith

Mrs Jane Oliver

Mrs Cheryl Greenhalgh

Ms Pam Taylor

Ms Susan Greenhalgh

Mr David Walters



Mrs Julie Carr


Mr David Ford


Mrs Mel Babington

Senior Science Technician

Mrs Nicola Hackney

Senior Science Technician

Curriculum Support Technicians


Mrs Denise Lowe


Mr Gwyn Pritchard-Williams


Internal Exclusion Manager


Ms Dawn Garrett


Alternative Provision Managers


Ms Pauline Slater

Mr Matt Lomas


Learning Support 

Learning Support Team

Mrs Valda Wood Team Leader

Mrs Carol Austin


Mrs Shelly Barton

Mr Kevin Bloor  
Mrs Jane Byatte  

Mrs Christine Edge


Mrs Allison Hoyle

Mr Eden Hutchins  

Mrs Debbie Melville

Ms Hilary Smith  
Ms Rebecca Tomlinson  
Mrs Jennifer Torkington  

Mrs Tracey Waller


Mrs Sarah Weston



Catering Staff


Mr Carl Bothamley

Catering Manager

Mrs Victoria Gardener

Catering Supervisor

Catering Assistants


Mrs Donna Barlow

Mrs Sarah Law

Mrs Nicola Gregory

Ms Alison Hallows

Mrs Sandra Todd

Ms Kelly Egerton

Ms Clare Thornley

Miss Coral Warburton