Skip to content ↓
Buxton Community School

Buxton Community School

Staff Team

We are fortunate to have a very dedicated and motivated team of teaching and support staff. Our staff are professional, innovative and committed to the personal and academic development of the students. The school has a very strong community ethos and staff support for students is outstanding.

If you wish to contact individual members of staff , their email addresses are listed below. Alternatively telephone the school Reception on 01298 23122 or email (Contact) . This email address is monitored daily and your enquiry will be forwarded to the most appropriate member of staff. 

 

Senior Leadership Team 

Mr Craig Yates

headteacher@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Headteacher

Mrs Samantha Jones

samantha.jones@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Deputy Headteacher

 

Mr Simon Gort

simon.gort@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Headteacher - Teaching & Learning

Mrs Gill Ashworth

gillian.ashworth@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Headteacher - Student Personal Development

Mrs Caroline Gelsthorpe

caroline.gelsthorpe@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Headteacher - Standards & Expectations

Mrs Alex Garner

alex.garner@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Headteacher - SENCo/Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs Christina Warrington

christina.warrington@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Headteacher - Recovery 

Mrs Claire Austin 

claire.austin@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Associate Assistant Headteacher - 

Mr Adam Warrington

adam.warrington@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Associate Assistant Headteacher

Mrs Jayne McMillan

jayne.mcmillan@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of School Business and Resources

 

Teaching Staff  

Mr Daniel Allen

daniel.allen@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Science

Mrs Claire Austin

claire.austin@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Modern Foreign Languages

Miss Abigail Barker

abigail.barker@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages

Mrs Emma Batey

emma.batey@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Media

Mrs Judith Birtles

judith.birtles@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Design & Technology

Mrs Stephanie Barratt

stephanie.barratt@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Psychology & Sociology

Mrs Leanne Bothamley

leanne.bothamley@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Mathematics

Mrs Vicki Booth

vicki.booth@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Mathematics

Ms Joan Carr

joan.carr@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Philosophy/Philosophy and Ethics

Mr Ciaran Buckley

ciaran.buckley@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of English & Teacher of Media Studies

Miss Abbie Copley

abbie.copley@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress Y8 and teacher of English

Ms Jackie Cruse

jackie.cruse@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Sixth Form & Teacher of Media Studies/English

Ms Lorraine Cushnie

Lcushnie@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Drama

Miss Hannah Edwards

hannah.edwards@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of  Food Technology

Mr Louis Edge

louis.edge@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Philosophy

Mrs Laura Flint

laura.flint@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Psychology & Head of PSHE (KS3)

Mr Luke Fowler

lfowler@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Science

Mr Martin Gardner

martin.gardner@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Geography, Health & Social Care and Psychology

Mrs Hayley Gardner

hayley.gardner@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of English

Ms Claire Gillespie

claire.gillespie@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of History

Mr Tom Griffin

thomas.griffin@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Mathematics 

Mrs Sophie Hardy

SHardy@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of PE

Ms Hannah Hayes

hannah.hayes@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Music

Ms Abigail Heywood

abigail.heywood@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Geography

Mr Charlie Holman

charlie.holman@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress Year 7 & Teacher of Physical Education

Mrs Anoma Howard

ahoward@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of English

 

Miss Georgia Hunter

georgia.hunter@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Food Technology

Miss Lucy Ingham

lucy.ingham@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress Year 10 & Teacher of History

Mr Anthony Isaac

anthony.isaac@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Design and Technology

Mr Ed Jones

ejones@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Geographer

Mr Gareth Jones

gareth.jones@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Mathematics

Mr Edward Kitchen

edward.kitchen@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Modern Foreign Languages

Mr Stephen Lockett

stephen.lockett@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Science 

Mrs Jessica Lomas

jess.lomas@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress Year 11 & Teacher of Geography 

Mrs Hayley Martin

hayley.martin@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Modern Foreign Languages

Mr Michael Milner

mike.milner@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Mathematics

Mr Michael Moore

michael.moore@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Art

Mrs Chi-er Morris

Teacher of Music (maternity cover)

Miss Catherine Murray

catherine.murray@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Mathematics

Dr Stuart Norris

stuart.norris@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Science

Ms Jessica Nichols

jessica.nichols@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of English

Mr Christian O’Brien

christian.obrien@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Physical Education

Mrs Claire O’Brien

claire.obrien@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Intervention & Teacher of Physical Education

Mrs Claire Pickford

claire.pickford@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of English

Mrs Elisabeth Rawson

elisabeth.rawson@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Assistant Head of Science 

Mrs Stephanie Reddy

stephanie.reddy@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Music 

Miss Caroline Scholes

caroline.scholes@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Maths

Miss Jayne Simcock

Jayne.simcock@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of ICT

Mr Greg Smith

greg.smith@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Director of Progress Y9 & Teacher of Science 

Mr Algis Sveikutis

algis.sveikutis@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Art & Head of PSHE (KS4)

Miss Sorrel Thomas

sorrel.thomas@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Drama & English

Mr Simon Thomson

simon.thomson@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Science 

Mr James Ward

james.ward@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of Business Studies

Mr Adam Warrington

adam.warrington@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of History

Mrs Emma Wentworth

emma.wentworth@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Head of IT and Computing

Mr Gary Wentworth

gary.wentworth@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Physical Education & Transition      Co-ordinator

Ms Carina Wood

carina.wood@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Teacher of Science

Support Staff 

Administration

 

Mrs Sandi Flint

sandi.flint@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

School Business Officer & Headteacher’s PA

Mrs Helen Dinardo

School Business Assistant

Mrs Caroline Sumner

School Business Assistant 

Mr Tim Shaw

School Business Assistant
Miss Emma Murray

School Business Assistant - Receptionist

Mrs Anne Mulhall School Business Assistant

Mr Ben Mawbey

School Business Assistant - Clerk to Governors

Pastoral

 

Mrs Caroline Siddons/Mrs Denise Lowe

caroline.siddons@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

denise.lowe@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Pastoral Manager - Year 7

Mrs Laura Gale

laura.gale@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Pastoral Manager - Year 8

Miss Kirsti Beesley

kirsti.beesley@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Pastoral Manager - Year 9

Mrs Jane Walters

jane.walters@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Pastoral Manager - Year 10

Mrs Debbie Birkin

debbie.birkin@buxton.derbyshire.sch.uk

Pastoral Manager - Year 11

Finance and HR

 

Mr Lee Russell 

School Business Officer

Mrs Dawn Penman School Business Officer

Cover 

 

Ms Carol Faram

Cover Supervisor

Mrs Amanda Ward Cover Supervisor

Data/Exams/SIMS

Mrs Heidi Bryan                      

 

School Business Officer - Exams Officer

Mrs Julie Houston

School Business Officer

IAG  
Miss Stephanie Moss School Business Assistant

Reprographics

 

Mr Darren Henderson

Curriculum Support Technician

ICT 

 

Mr Tim Gilhooly

ICT Manager

Post 16 

 

Ms Rebecca Hall

Sixth Form Learning Mentor

School Counsellor

 

Mrs Debra McDonald- Webb

 

Student & Family Support Manager   
Mrs Julie Woods  

Site and Community

 

Mr Paul Thompson

Facilities Manager

Mr Shane Birchenough

Caretaker

Mr James Hunter

Caretaker

Mr Mark Williams Caretaker

Mr Alex Kitchen

Lettings Assistant (Evenings & Saturday)

Cleaning Team 

 

Mrs Miggie Birchenough

Mrs Anastasia Jones

Ms Rosie Brockman

Mrs Sarah Law

Mr Stuart Donnelly

Miss Carole O'Dwyer

Miss Hannah Frith

Mrs Jane Oliver

Mrs Cheryl Greenhalgh

Mrs Wendy Prince

Ms Susan Greenhalgh

Ms Pam Taylor
Ms Julie Hudson Mr David Walters

Technicians

 

Mrs Julie Carr

Technology 

Mr David Ford

Technology 

Curriculum Support Technicians

 

Mrs Deborah Ward 

 

Miss Lydia Weston   

Mr Gwyn Pritchard-Williams

 

Internal Exclusion Manager

 

Ms Dawn Garrett

 

Alternative Provision Managers

 

Ms Pauline Slater

Mr Matt Lomas

 
 

Learning Support 

Learning Support Team

 
Mrs Valda Wood Team Leader

Mrs Carol Austin

 
Mrs Jane Byatte  

Mrs Christine Edge

 
Ms Kelly Edgerton  

Mrs Allison Hoyle

 
Mr Eden Hutchins  

Mrs Debbie Melville

 
Ms Hilary Smith  
Mr Joshua Steer  
Ms Rebecca Tomlinson  
Mrs Jennifer Torkington  

Mrs Tracey Waller

 
Ms Rebecca Ward  

Mrs Sarah Weston

 

Catering 

Catering Staff

 

Mr Carl Bothamley

Catering Manager

Mrs Victoria Gardener

Catering Supervisor

Catering Assistants

 

Mrs Donna Barlow

Mr Kevan Logan

Mrs Nicola Gregory

Ms Clare Thornley

Ms Alison Hallows

Mrs Sandra Todd

Mrs Sarah Law

Miss Coral Warburton